Message sent from:


SEN Code of Practice 2018 - What is SEND?

A child has special educational needs or disabilities (SEND) if they have a learning difficulty or disability which means that they find it significantly harder to learn, or to do activities expected for their age.

These children may need extra support, or special provision made for them, to ensure they can fully access the curriculum and all school activities.

If your child has special educational needs or disabilities their needs will fall into one or more of the four main areas of SEN.

Communication and Interaction

  • Speech, Language and Communication  Needs (SLCN)
  • Autism

Cognition and Learning

  • Specific Learning Difficulty (SpLD)
  • Moderate Learning Difficulty (MLD)
  • Severe Learning Difficulty (SLD)
  • Profound and Multiple Learning Difficulty (PMLD)

Behavioural, emotional and social

Physical and Sensory

  • Visual Impairment (VI)
  • Hearing Impairment (HI)
  • Multi-Sensory Impairment (MSI)
  • Physical Disability (PD)